top of page

Finn Mattingly



Finn Mattingly is a composer from the north shore of Boston, Massachusetts. Currently, he is an undergraduate student at the Royal College of Music in London, where he is a Humphrey Searle Scholar studying with Kenneth Hesketh. Previously, he studied with Rodney Lister at the New England Conservatory Preparatory School and Kyle Blaha at the New York Youth Symphony while still in high school. Finn has written a variety of solo, chamber, choral, and orchestral works for musicians such as Bridget Kibbey, Peter Miyamoto, and the Aizuri and Julius Quartets. His solo violin piece for Tien-Hsin Cindy Wu, Seaside Contemplation, won Honorable Mention in Tribeca New Music’s 2021 Young Composer Competition. Finn has also recently collaborated on a new piece for wind quintet for the emerging new music ensemble Aeolian Winds, and has had his music featured by various large chamber ensembles at the RCM (notably the wind and brass ensembles), while his orchestral works have been workshopped in a variety of settings. He is also the recipient of the Newburyport Choral Society’s 2021 Betty Gillette Scholarship, an Honorable Mention in the 2022 American Prize (High School Chamber Music Division). Finn has presented music in masterclasses with Ryan Latimer, Martin Bresnick, Pamela Z, Nico Muhly, and Kati Agócs, and has attended the Brevard Music Center, Atlantic Music Festival, Curtis’s Young Artists Summer Program, and Boston Conservatory’s High School Composition Intensive. Since arriving in the UK, he has remained active as a collaborative composer through both writing for a variety of ensembles and beginning a series of collaborative pieces for solo instruments and electronics, working in a back-and-forth manner with soloists based around Europe and America.

Selected Recordings

Contact Me

+1 (603) 312-1916 / +44 (0)7878 749253

  • Instagram
bottom of page